Dress OVERLOAD -Me Made May

Okay. So, I only participated in memademay on Sundays. (I am just amazed that some people have an outfit a day for the entire month. Wow!) Most of what I have made is Sunday church attire.

May 3, 2015

IMG_1028  IMG_1026

This is the same pattern I used for this year’s Easter skirt. McCall’s 5430.

image

I always think it is really cool to see the difference fabric makes in a pattern. This skirt is much dressier than the Easter one which is a casual cotton fabric. Also, the cotton one looks better tied in a bow. This one I prefer knotted with both full sashes hanging.

Here is an alternate fabric view so you can see the sheen.

IMG_1041

May 10, 2015 (Mother’s Day)

IMG_1249

I just LOVE this dress. It’s so comfy! I love the batik feathered fabric! And, the pockets make me happy. For some reason, they make me feel like a little girl.

Here’s the pattern. Simplicity 1687.

IMG_2251

I do wish the neckline weren’t so wide on this pattern. That is the only reason(besides I’m lazy) why I haven’t remade this dress in another fabric already. As you can see, I added a ruffle to the neckline in a successful effort to cover my bra straps. Seriously!

FullSizeRender FullSizeRender

Can you see my exposed green zipper in this last one? Maybe you have to click it to see it better. My mom thinks it’s atrocious. But, hey, I like it! I tried to tell her that exposed zippers are all the rage right now. (Although “all the rage” is not. It is now called “on point”, but I think that phrase is atrocious.)

FullSizeRender

May 17, 2015

This one is also made from a batik, one of my favorite fabrics. In case you’d like to know: “To make a batik, selected areas of the cloth are blocked out by brushing or drawing hot wax over them, and the cloth is then dyed. The parts covered in wax resist the dye and remain the original colour. This process of waxing and dyeing can be repeated to create more elaborate and colourful designs. After the final dyeing the wax is removed and the cloth is ready for wearing or showing.” (http://www.batikguild.org.uk/whatisbatik.asp)

Didn’t ask permission for that. Hope I don’t get a cease and desist.

Anyhey! The sun was kinda harsh whilst taking these pics. I was trying to resist squinting.

At the time I made this dress, I was really in love with and wanting to use rick rack. I am thinking I will remove the large rick rack flower and possibly the small one too. I just think it would make the dress more versatile.

IMG_1409 IMG_1419

Simplicity 3530.

IMG_2252

Not the best pattern I’ve ever used. I was pregnant with Ace when I made it, and it was still too much like a sack to wear. I added an elastic band(not in the pattern) to the inside to give it a waist. I also had to widen the yoke(neckline piece) of this one. It puckers some as a result of that.

IMG_1442

Here’s a close up of the sleeve detail. Pleating!

FullSizeRender

May 24, 2015

The first Easter dress I ever made. 2009 Edition. Actually. The first anything I ever made, besides a skirt or two in the LDS young women’s program and a couple clothespin aprons.

FullSizeRender FullSizeRender

Vogue sheath dress. V8414.

IMG_2253

“Very Easy Vogue”. I love the way they label patterns. It’s like they take a bunch of labels and toss them randomly on a bunch of patterns. Whichever pattern the label lands on is the one that gets it.

Purple linen. The only adjustment I remember making to this one is that I added “tail feathers” to the rear slit.

IMG_2258  IMG_1768

The facing(inside collar) of the dress is also this floral.

Spencer told me I was too stiff… so here I am “acting natural” and dancing to loosen up.

FullSizeRender  FullSizeRender   FullSizeRender

May 31, 2015

Can you tell I like purple? I try to avoid it, but I’m always drawn to it like a moth to the flame.

Love this material. The flowers look like poinsettias. I’m pretty sure they haven’t developed real purple poinsettias yet. You can get them in pink though, and I have before.

FullSizeRender  FullSizeRender

Yes. I am barefoot. I didn’t even realize it until I was looking back at the pics and though, ‘hmm… shoulda wore some shoes.’ Oh, well.

Simplicity 2926. I took some of the fullness out of this skirt. Oh, and it was going to be too small so I had to sew smaller side seams and sew in a half inch of material on either side of the zipper in the back. Oops!

IMG_2255

This was the first time I’d ever used piping on anything. I have to say, I really like it. It gives such a nice finished look.  AND, the pleating!! Love that!

FullSizeRender

As they say, the devil is in the details. My grandma says I always pick the most complicated patterns. Uh.. That’s cuz they are the prettiest!

3 thoughts on “Dress OVERLOAD -Me Made May

Leave a Reply

