Fancy Smancy Pink Wedding Reception Dress

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I wanted something special to wear to my cousin’s wedding. I already had this pattern. The material is the only one I could find at Hancock’s that I thought was the right style and gauge for the pattern and occasion. Cut it out less than two weeks before, and finished it the day of the wedding. Broke two sewing machines in the process. Finished her on my grandma Aleta’s Singer treadle ‘machine’. I use the term ‘machine’ very loosely here. I didn’t manage to break the treadle. I think the “motor” is stronger on it. Ha! πŸ™‚

Update: My machine went back to sewing normally after this project. I think it hated the fabric.

6 thoughts on “Fancy Smancy Pink Wedding Reception Dress

    • I am taking it to the repairman today. It has continued to have issues.

      I have a treadle machine upstairs that I’ve had several years. I have never taken the time to get it in working order though. A little WD-40 and adjusting the cord should be all it takes… I don’t know why that seems so daunting.

      Like

  1. You did a great job! I love your slideshow πŸ˜†

    Did you have any issues with making the dress, other than your insane machine issues??

    Like

    • Not really. I would say the sizing is accurate. After it was all together, I did take in the waist a little, but I nearly always have to make some fine adjustment like that. Also, it took me a minute to figure out exactly how to put the box pleats in, but I had never done those before. Lastly, I accidentally bought a petite pattern without noticing, and I am not petite. So, the end of the waist should’ve dropped down another couple inches and it would’ve been more flattering.
      I’m not sure of the name for the type of material I used, but it is thick. I could tell from the pattern that they had used a fabric with a lot of body. I don’t think it would look nearly as good in thinner material. (But that’s just my opinion.)
      Having said that, I absolutely love the dress. It makes me feel fabulous! Good luck making yours!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

